This is the legislative body of the State of Israel. Out of a desire to connect to Israeli tradition, it was decided that the legislative body will be called Knesset like the Great Knesset that operated in the days of the Temple and consisted of 120 members. There are also 120 members in the modern-day Knesset. The Knesset was established in 1949. The Rothschild family donated money for the building of the Knesset. A contest was held for archaeologists and it was thus decided that the shape of the building will be like that of a Greek temple due to Greece being thought of as the founder of democracies.

Read more